Constituent States of German Empire

By the beginning of the XX century the German Empire consisted of four kingdoms, six grand duchies, five duchies, seven principalities, three free Hanseatic cities and one Imperial territory. The Kingdom of Prussia was the largest and the most powerful of all those states. Each component of the Empire had its own constitution, state machine, legal system as well as executive, representative and judicial bodies.

Kingdom of Prussia (Königreich Preußen) – Berlin     

- Province of Brandenburg (Provinz Brandenburg) – Potsdam

- Province of Westphalia (Provinz Westfalen) – Münster

- Province of East Prussia (Provinz Ostpreußen) – Königsberg

- Province of Hanover (Provinz Hannover) – Hanover (Hannover)

- Hesse-Nassau Province (Provinz Hessen-Nassau) – Kassel

- Province of West Prussia (Provinz Westpreußen) – Danzig

- Province of Posen (Provinz Posen) – Posen

- Province of Pomerania (Provinz Pommern) – Stettin

- Province of Saxony (Provinz Sachsen) – Magdeburg

- Province of Silesia (Provinz Schlesien) – Breslau

- Province of Schleswig-Holstein (Provinz Schleswig-Holstein) – Kiel (1871-1879), Schleswig (1879-1917), Kiel (1917-1918)

- Rhine Province, a.k.a. Rhenish Prussia, Rhineland (Rheinprovinz, Rheinpreußen, Rheinland) – Koblenz

- Province of Hohenzollern (Hohenzollernsche Lande): Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen (Fürstentum Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen) and Hohenzollern-Hechingen (Fürstentum Hohenzollern-Hechingen) – Sigmaringen

Kingdom of Saxony (Königreich Sachsen) – Dresden

Kingdom of Bavaria (Königreich Bayern) – Munich (München)

Kingdom of Württemberg (Königreich Württemberg) – Stuttgart


Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg (Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg)

Free and Hanseatic City of Lübeck (Freie und Hansestadt Lübeck)    

Free and Hanseatic City of Bremen (Freie und Hansestadt Bremen)


Grand Duchy of Baden (Großherzogtum Baden) – Karlsruhe

Grand Duchy of Hesse and by Rhine (Großherzogtum Hessen und bei Rhein) – Darmstadt

Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin (Großherzogtum Mecklenburg-Schwerin) – Schwerin

Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz (Großherzogtum Mecklenburg-Strelitz) – Neustrelitz   

Grand Duchy of Oldenburg (Großherzogtum Oldenburg) – Oldenburg

Grand Duchy of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach (Großherzogtum Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach) – Weimar


Duchy of Anhalt (Herzogtum Anhalt) – Dessau

Duchy of Brunswick (Herzogtum Braunschweig) – Braunschweig

Duchy of Saxe-Altenburg (Herzogtum Sachsen-Altenburg) – Altenburg

Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, or Saxe-Coburg-Gotha is the collective name of two duchies, Saxe-Coburg and Saxe-Gotha (Herzogtum Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha) – Coburg, Gotha

Duchy of Saxe-Meiningen (Herzogtum Sachsen-Meiningen) – Meiningen       


Principality of Waldeck-Pyrmont (Fürstentum Waldeck-Pyrmont) – Arolsen

Principality of Lippe (Fürstentum Lippe) – Detmold

Principality of Reuss, junior (younger) line (Fürstentum Reuß jüngerer Linie) – Gera

Principality of Reuss, senior (elder) line (Fürstentum Reuß älterer Linie) – Greiz

Principality of Schaumburg-Lippe (Fürstentum Schaumburg-Lippe) – Bückeburg       

Principality of Schwarzburg-Sondershausen (Fürstentum Schwarzburg-Sondershausen) – Sondershausen

Principality of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt (Fürstentum Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt) – Rudolstadt


Imperial Territory Alsace-Lorraine (Reichsland Elsaß-Lothringen) – Straßburg


German Empire map

German Empire map 1